Thursday, December 1, 1994

Farchrist Tales, Book 5: Crusader

Farchrist Tales is a six-volume series I started writing in college and finished in the years that immediately followed. It was my first, dedicated attempt at long-form fiction, and I chose a genre I had some familiarity with--fantasy adventure--to explore several philosophical issues I found myself grappling with as I matured into full adulthood.

It is the story of Gilbert Parkinson, the adopted son of a small-town tavern-owner, who has a secret heritage that some honor and others despise, and the battles he must fight on both sides to make his own way in the world.

The first volume, Stone to Flesh, included Chapters 1-11, and was completed in September 1990. Go here to read it.

The second volume, The Forgotten Temple, included Chapters 12-23, and was completed in December 1990. Go here to read it.

The third volume, The Undergod, included Chapters 24-40, and was completed in April 1991. I began posting its chapters on this blog in July 2012. Go here to read the chapters that have been posted.

The fourth volume, The Price, was completed in December 1991. I will begin posting its chapters on this blog in December 2013. Go here for the future publication schedule.

The fifth volume, Crusader, was completed in December 1994. I will begin posting its chapters on this blog in September 2015. See below for the future publication schedule.


Speculative Fiction
Approximately 169,000 words
Copyright © Eric Lanke, 1994. All rights reserved.

Chapter Sixty-Two (coming September 1, 2015)
Chapter Sixty-Three (coming October 1, 2015)
Chapter Sixty-Four (coming November 1, 2015)
Chapter Sixty-Five (coming December 1, 2015)
Chapter Sixty-Six (coming January 1, 2016)
Chapter Sixty-Seven (coming February 1, 2016)
Chapter Sixty-Eight (coming March 1, 2016)
Chapter Sixty-Nine (coming April 1, 2016)
Chapter Seventy (coming May 1, 2016)
Chapter Seventy-One (coming June 1, 2016)
Chapter Seventy-Two (coming July 1, 2016)
Chapter Seventy-Three (coming August 1, 2016)
Chapter Seventy-Four (coming September 1, 2016)
Chapter Seventy-Five (coming October 1, 2016)
Chapter Seventy-Six (coming November 1, 2016)
Chapter Seventy-Seven (coming December 1, 2016)
Chapter Seventy-Eight (coming January 1, 2017)
Chapter Seventy-Nine (coming February 1, 2017)
Chapter Eighty (coming March 1, 2017)
Chapter Eighty-One (coming April 1, 2017)
Chapter Eighty-Two (coming May 1, 2017)
Chapter Eighty-Three (coming June 1, 2017)