Sunday, December 1, 1991

Farchrist Tales, Book 4: The Price

Farchrist Tales is a six-volume series I started writing in college and finished in the years that immediately followed. It was my first, dedicated attempt at long-form fiction, and I chose a genre I had some familiarity with--fantasy adventure--to explore several philosophical issues I found myself grappling with as I matured into full adulthood.

It is the story of Gilbert Parkinson, the adopted son of a small-town tavern-owner, who has a secret heritage that some honor and others despise, and the battles he must fight on both sides to make his own way in the world.

The first volume, Stone to Flesh, included Chapters 1-11, and was completed in September 1990. Go here to read it.

The second volume, The Forgotten Temple, included Chapters 12-23, and was completed in December 1990. Go here to read it.

The third volume, The Undergod, included Chapters 24-40, and was completed in April 1991. I began posting its chapters on this blog in July 2012. Go here to read the chapters that have been posted.

The fourth volume, The Price, was completed in December 1991. I will begin posting its chapters on this blog in December 2013. See below for the future publication schedule.


Speculative Fiction
Approximately 97,000 words
Copyright © Eric Lanke, 1991. All rights reserved.

Chapter Forty-One (coming December 1, 2013)
Chapter Forty-Two (coming January 1, 2014)
Chapter Forty-Three (coming February 1, 2014)
Chapter Forty-Four (coming March 1, 2014)
Chapter Forty-Five (coming April 1, 2014)
Chapter Forty-Six (coming May 1, 2014)
Chapter Forty-Seven (coming June 1, 2014)
Chapter Forty-Eight (coming July 1, 2014)
Chapter Forty-Nine (coming August 1, 2014)
Chapter Fifty (coming September 1, 2014)
Chapter Fifty-One (coming October 1, 2014)
Chapter Fifty-Two (coming November 1, 2014)
Chapter Fifty-Three (coming December 1, 2014)
Chapter Fifty-Four (coming January 1, 2015)
Chapter Fifty-Five (coming February 1, 2015)
Chapter Fifty-Six (coming March 1, 2015)
Chapter Fifty-Seven (coming April 1, 2015)
Chapter Fifty-Eight (coming May 1, 2015)
Chapter Fifty-Nine (coming June 1, 2015)
Chapter Sixty (coming July 1, 2015)
Chapter Sixty-One (coming August 1, 2015)