Monday, April 1, 1991

Farchrist Tales, Book 3: The Undergod

Farchrist Tales is a six-volume series I started writing in college and finished in the years that immediately followed. It was my first, dedicated attempt at long-form fiction, and I chose a genre I had some familiarity with--fantasy adventure--to explore several philosophical issues I found myself grappling with as I matured into full adulthood.

It is the story of Gilbert Parkinson, the adopted son of a small-town tavern-owner, who has a secret heritage that some honor and others despise, and the battles he must fight on both sides to make his own way in the world.

The first volume, Stone to Flesh, included Chapters 1-11, and was completed in September 1990. Go here to read it.

The second volume, The Forgotten Temple, included Chapters 12-23, and was completed in December 1990. Go here to read it.

The third volume, The Undergod, was completed in April 1991. I began posting its chapters on this blog in July 2012. See below for the future publication schedule.


Speculative Fiction
Approximately 69,000 words
Copyright © Eric Lanke, 1991. All rights reserved.

Chapter Twenty-Four
Chapter Twenty-Five
Chapter Twenty-Six
Chapter Twenty-Seven
Chapter Twenty-Eight
Chapter Twenty-Nine
Chapter Thirty
Chapter Thirty-One
Chapter Thirty-Two
Chapter Thirty-Three
Chapter Thirty-Four
Chapter Thirty-Five
Chapter Thirty-Six
Chapter Thirty-Seven
Chapter Thirty-Eight
Chapter Thirty-Nine
Chapter Forty